1967 Little League North Seniors

Enshrined 2017

The Elyria Sports Hall of Fame welcomes its third Little League State Champions with the induction of the 1967 Little League North Seniors. They’ll join the 1958 Little League South Majors and the 1969 Little League West Majors State Champions that advanced to the World Series in Wilmington where they finished third in the world. In just the second year of the program being started, Little League North Seniors rolled through the competition to win the state crown in July of 1967 and went on to compete in a double-elimination regional tournament in Gary, Indiana. To win the state, North had to get past All-Star teams from Little League South, Collinwood, Little League East, Ashtabula, Mansfield and Dayton.  The 5-4 win over Dayton clinched the state title. North, after beating the state champion from Michigan, lost to the Missouri state champion to fall into the loser’s bracket. However, they defeated Indiana and gained revenge by beating Missouri before losing to Wisconsin, 6-5, in the finals. Wisconsin went on to the Senior Little League World Series. The team was managed by Don Dull and coached by Lee Heighberger (both deceased). Members of the team included: Front Row (Left-to-Right): Donny Kowaleski, Gary Beury, Carl Miksanek, Jim Dunn, Tony Korzan and Danny Sweigard. Back Row (Left-to-Right): Coach Lee Heighberger, Robby Sheldon, Jim Churpek, Pat Mullholland, Al Heighberger, Danny Terrell, Bill Dull, Scott Byrne, Tom Szabo and Manager Don Dull. Tom Schue wasn’t present for the picture. Of note, Sheldon and Szabo are both inductees of the ESHOF for individual performances.